RESOLUTION NO. 2008:26 A RESOLUTION OF THE Governing Body OF THE Town of Smithville AUTHORIZING THE ADOPTION OF THE CHENANGO COUNTY MULTI-JURISDICTIONAL MULTI-HAZARD MITIGATION PLAN

WHEREAS, all of Chenango County has exposure to natural hazards that increase the risk to life, property, environment and the County's economy; and

WHEREAS; pro-active mitigation of known hazards before a disaster event can reduce or eliminate long-term risk to life and property; and

WHEREAS, The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (Public Law 106-390) established new requirements for pre and post disaster hazard mitigation programs; and

WHEREAS; a coalition of Chenango County municipalities with like planning objectives has been formed to pool resources and create consistent mitigation strategies to be implemented within each partners identified capabilities, within Chenango County; and

WHEREAS, the coalition has completed a planning process that engages the public, assesses the risk and vulnerability to the impacts of natural hazards, develops a mitigation strategy consistent with a set of uniform goals and objectives, and creates a plan for implementing, evaluating and revising this strategy;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Town of Smithville

- 1.) Adopts the Chenango County Multi-Jurisdictional Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan (the "Plan") as this jurisdiction's Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan, and resolves to execute the actions identified in the Plan that pertain to this jurisdiction.
- 2.) Will use the adopted and approved portions of the Plan to guide pre- and post-disaster mitigation of the hazards identified.
- 3.) Will coordinate the strategies identified in the Plan with other planning programs and mechanisms under its jurisdictional authority.
- 4.) Will continue its support of the Mitigation Planning Committee as described within the Plan.
- 5.) Will help to promote and support the mitigation successes of all participants in this Plan.
- 6.) Will incorporate mitigation planning as an integral component of government and partner operations.

Mayor, Town of

PASSED AND ADOPTED on this	21st Day of July	2008, by the following vote
----------------------------	------------------	-----------------------------

AYES: Borne, Mohr, NOES: •	Coletta,	Connelly,	Johnson	
NOLD.				
ABSENT: O				
ABSTAIN O				